Buckle Up

Day One of the home stretch, and I’m soaking in the last golden moments of autonomy before we pick up the students for the final five weeks of the semester. Five weeks is nothing– it’s not even enough time to grow out a bad haircut or fully break a bad habit. We’ve packed the days to come as we migrate southward to our final destination in San Francisco with service projects, thought-provoking encounters, and some time for figuring out what it all means. I’ve already got anticipatory whiplash from how quickly it will all go by, because I know how much can happen in far less than five weeks. Five days. Five minutes.

I gave break my best shot.  I ate of some forbidden fruits, like this one…

burger

and this one…

donut

I trolled the stacks at  Powell’s Books like a lovesick fool

powell

and that was just the first few days. I had a lot more on my break time bucket list, but before I knew it, I was on a flight back East to deal with some family emergencies, and that was that. Break disappeared and I found myself back at the airport Super 8 Motel in Portland where we left the bus at the start of break. It wasn’t exactly the same. It was a different room, and I ended up sleeping here

bathtub

…but that is another story for another time. For now, I’ve got to stow my personals back on the bus and get this circus on the road. The students await us curbside at PDX, and it’s off to the races from there.  All aboard!

Leave a Reply

